NBGS Coat Of Arms
New Brunswick Genealogical Society, Inc.

Who We Are

The New Brunswick Genealogical Society, Inc. (NBGS, Inc.) is a non-profit organization founded in 1978 to encourage and facilitate family historical research in New Brunswick, Canada.

The mission of the Society as a volunteer provincial heritage organization, as summarized here from our constitution, is to promote and develop the study, research and preservation of genealogical records and family history by:

  • Promoting the collection, preservation and accessibility of the Province of New Brunswick genealogical and heritage records.
  • Being the collective voice of genealogy and family history pertaining to the Province of New Brunswick.
  • Co-ordinating genealogical and family history related projects pertaining to the Province of New Brunswick.
  • Promoting education of members and the general public in New Brunswick with respect to genealogy and heritage.
  • Encouraging the establishment of Branches within the Province of New Brunswick.
  • Encouraging accuracy and thoroughness in genealogical research.
  • Encouraging and instructing members and the public in the ethical principles, scientific methods, and effective techniques of genealogical research through publications and workshops.
  • Assembling a library of genealogical guides, handbooks, reference sources, family and local histories, and other books and materials to assist the members, which shall be available to the members and the public.
  • Collecting, preserving and publishing materials relevant to the study of genealogy and family history.
  • Developing and maintaining the human and financial resources of the Society.

Branch Information

The New Brunswick Genealogical Society/Société Généalogique du Nouveau-Brunswick (NBGS) has five affiliated Branches in various locations throughout New Brunswick. The NBGS, Inc. board of directors is composed of representatives from each of its branches one of which is the branch president. While members have the option to join the NBGS, Inc. directly, they are encouraged to join any of its five branches. Fees may differ among the branches. A listing of individual branch contacts, addresses and fees may be found by selecting one of the branches from the menu on the left. A printable membership form is also available online. French and English versions of the form may be accessed by selecting either About Us or Public Downloads from the menu on the left, and then choosing the appropriate language.

Membership Benefits

All members receive the Society's journal, Generations, which is published on a quarterly basis. Generations is 68 pages long and contains book reviews, books for sale, passenger lists, rare documents, notices of genealogical seminars, cemeteries, census and other genealogy related material associated with New Brunswick. There is also a Queries section. The magazine is distributed to over one thousand members across North America and overseas.

Search our members only database on "First Families of New Brunswick", a collection of Family group records.

Post the surnames you are researching to the website so others, including non-members, can collaborate with you.

Access the members-only section where you will find a directory of all members and back issues of the Generations journal.

Receive email notification of meetings and events and newsletters from individual branches.


Join today by either clicking on one of the links below, right click on the document and select print or go to "Marketplace" and pay online.

English Membership Form             Formule de cotisation


Officers of  NBGS, Inc. and of the branches:

Operating Year: January - December 2018

Provincial Officers
President: David Laskey, UE
1st Vice President: Brian Cassidy
2nd Vice President: Vacant
Past President: David Fyffe
Secretary: Sherrill Carter
Treasurer: David Fraser
Generations Editor: David Fraser
Membership Secretary: Dianne Mullin
Capital Branch
President: Brian Cassidy
Vice President: Vacant
Secretary: Vacant
Treasurer: Ron Green
Membership Secretary: Frank Morehouse
Program: Victor Badeau
Library & Telephone: Carol Brander
Provincial Rep: Andrew Gunter
Provincial Rep: Carol Brander
Provincial Rep: Vacant
Charlotte Branch
President: Jason Gaudet
Secretary: Karen Northrup
Treasurer: Donna Walsh
Membership Secretary: Donna Walsh
Past President: Calvin Craig
Miramichi Branch
President: Faye Baisley
Vice President: Dianne Mullin
Past President: Calvin Stewart
Secretary: Vacant
Treasurer: Elsie Stefanyk
Membership Secretary: Cory Ahern
Director: Donna Kelly
Director: William Donald
Provincial Rep.: Carolyn Harris
Provincial Rep.: Faye Baisley
Provincial Rep.: Marilyn Creamer-Fowler
Saint John Branch
President: David Fraser
Vice President: Vacant
Past President: David Laskey, UE
Secretary: Vacant
Treasurer: David Laskey, UE
Membership Secretary: George Sabean
Director: Joan Pearce
Director: Mary Rosevear
Director: Lynn Kinsella
Director: Irene Keleher
Director: Janet Saunders-Cunningham
Director: Ruth McQuinn
Director: Elaine Moyer
Director: Karen Urquhart
Director: Mary Chisholm
Director: Susan Ewing
Southeastern Branch (Moncton)
President & Provincial Rep: Heather Fraser
1st Vice President: Peggy Vasseur
2nd Vice President: Donald Alward
Past President: Thelma Perry
Secretary: Judy Wortman
Membership Secretary : Stan Balch
Director: Sherrill Carter
Director: Jeffrey Deloughery
Director: Donald Alward
Director: Diane Richard
Director: David Fyffe
Director: Leslie Gogan
Director & Provincial Rep: Norma Jean Killam
Provincial Rep: Thelma Perry
Provincial Rep: Stan Balch